Vitamin C – My Go to Serum

We are slowly but surely getting closer to Spring which means sunnier days and hopefully more time spent outside. Even with weather here in Germany as unpredictable as it is, i make it a habit to use my Vitamin C serum all year round.

Vitamin C is a powerful antioxidant that has major skincare benefits, it helps with brightening and firming while improving collagen production to help attain a youthful appearance. This powerful antioxidant also diminishes the appearance of dark spots and hyper-pigmentation while fighting pollution and free radicals which we are exposed to on a daily basis in our environment.

facetune-1

How To Use

After cleansing and toning my skin I love to follow up with my serums, I normally use just a small pump of the serum and apply all over my face, down my neck in a light and circular motion, then gently patting it all in with the tips of my fingers to make sure it’s all properly absorbed. I then follow up with SPF to protect my skin from the sun.

Choosing A Vitamin C

L- Ascorbic Acid is the purest form of Vitamin C which is water soluble and can easily pass through the epidermal layer of the skin, it may cause some irritation to some with sensitive skin due to how potent of an ingredient it is. When shopping for a Vitamin C serum, it is important to pay attention to the levels of Vitamin C which is usually on the label. These serums can range from 10% to the highest of 20% with prices that can vary depending on the brand. I am the type of consumer who pays close attention to the list of ingredients on any product, so it is crucial that you explore your options for the best serum.

Beginner friendly Vitamin C serums for people with mainly sensitive skin can find options of Vitamin C derivatives such as Ascorbyl Palmitate, Sodium Ascorbate/phosphate and Magnesium Ascorbyl Palmitate. These derivatives are normally combined with Vitamin E, Ferulic and Lactic acid to make the product more effective with less irritation.

List Of Serums To Buy

Ren Radiance Perfecting Serum

La Rösche Posay Pure Vitamin C 10

Skin Ceuticals C E Ferulic

Drunk Elephant C Firma Day Serum

Summer Fridays CC Me Serum

The Ordinary Healthy Set

If you enjoyed this post make sure to leave a comment and share with me some of your favorite Vitamin C serums you use in your skincare routine.

Leave a comment