How To Care For Your Skin This Summer

Blue skies with warm sunny Summer days is just what I’ve been waiting for! As much as how I am very excited for one of my favorite season’s, it is vital that we also make a change in our skincare routine. I think I could call myself an expert on perfectly curating steps in my skincare routine to keep my melanin hydrated and protected! Growing up in a country with a hot climate has definitely helped me to figure out what works best and what to stay away from, we all like to have some fun in the sun, whether it’s a meet up for lunch or drinks with friends, some of you might be excited to go on a long Summer vacation you’ve been planning for months, here is where I’ll help you to care for skin this Summer without the hassle.

Cleansing Your Skin

This is a everyday practice to maintain clean, healthy skin and if you have oily skin you may need to shop for foaming cleansers, CeraVe Foaming Facial Cleanser is an excellent choice. I would recommend using a gel based cleanser if you struggle with dry skin, there are some highly sought after cleansers on the market such as ; Murad Essential-C Cleanser. Exfoliating one to two times a week is another step to remove dirt, oil and build up, your skin will look and feel smooth as a new born baby. The point is, you want to be gentle on your skin using products with hydrating ingredients like ; hyaluronic acid, ceramides, glycerin and salicylic acid to help fight acne.

Source:Pinterest

Use A Serum

What I love about serums is that they are made up with smaller molecules for deeper penetration, easily transferring potent and hydrating ingredients into your skin. Don’t skip on using a serum after cleansing, adding a Regena C30 Vitamin C serum to your daily skincare routine will help to boost collagen production, clear hyperpigmentation , fight fine lines and wrinkles, repair skin damage from stress and pollutants in the air while helping to maintain a healthy skin barrier.

Source: Pinterest

Moisturize

This Summer heat can have you going from one day of having clear skin, to waking up the next morning with pimples and heat rashes all over your face. Even though it might be hot outside you don’t want to run the risk of forgetting to use your moisturiser. In the daytime I use Caudalie Vino-source intense moisturizer , my skin feels light and smooth, so it’s easy to add other products on top. During these Summer months oily skin tends to get more greasy and dry skin more patchy, use a non-comodegenic moisturiser for all day hydration.

Caudalie Vino
Caudalie Vino-source Intense Moisturizing Cream

Don’t Forget Your SPF

I truly cannot preach enough how wearing SPF is a Must!! A broad spectrum SPF 30 and over is needed daily, especially through these hot Summer months. This should be your last step in your skincare routine to make sure your skin is protected, regardless if you are indoors the entire day or it might be mostly cloudy outside, don’t forget to lather up with spf and reapply every two hours. There are physical and mineral sunscreens without the white cast( which I’m sure you’ll appreciate),Sundance Pro Climate SPF 50 sunscreen is one of my absolute favorite! Other well known skincare brands like; Summer Friday’s Shade Drops SPF 30 Mineral Milk Sunscreen, Black Girl Moisturising Broad Spectrum SPF 30 ,Supergoop Unseen Sunscreen SPF 40 are also some perfect options to choose from. People are always raving about these products and I’m sure you’ll love them too!

Wear Light Makeup

Back when I was experimenting with foundations to find the best one that stays in place all day, it was a dreadful experience to have my makeup just melting off my face in the hot sun, that is not a good look and we definitely don’t want that! In the Summer time I tend to go much lighter on my overall makeup application, I use my matte foundations especially when I’m all day out living my best life and I need my makeup to stay put. If you have dry skin I would recommend using a skin tinted foundation which will give you a natural luminous glow, the goal is to have your skin feeling as light as possible but hydrated with a long lasting wear.

Ester Lauder Double Wear Foundation
Estée Lauder Double Wear Foundation
Highly recommended matte foundation, especially if you have oily skin, girls this foundation is going no where! Transfer free and stays beautifully in place all day.

NARS Sheer Glow Foundation
A luminous light weight foundation that is perfect for dry skin, you can build up the coverage to what suits you best and most of all it will keep your skin hydrated

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Gloria Kelly says:

    Very interesting points, I started using sunscreen a lot after reading your blog, thanks a lot 🎉😍😊

    Like

    1. nastasjialee says:

      Happy i could inspire you to use a SPF daily and thank you for reading!

      Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Thank you for all the advice, it was very interesting and helpful 👍🏾⚘😊

    Like

    1. nastasjialee says:

      You are so welcome and thanks for reading!

      Like

      1. Anonymous says:

        Reading your blog is always interesting thanks for taking the time to share🙏🏽❤❤👍🏾😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. nastasjialee says:

        I am so happy to hear, hope you will enjoy the other posts as well! Thanks for reading .

        Like

Leave a comment